Setting the Right Goal and How to Achieve it

Staying focused is important, keep pushing everyone! (Photo/Flickr)

I was actually asked the other day, what my goal is with working out. To me, this was actually pretty scary, because I had never actually thought about what I wanted my goal to be and what i was working for. I always knew I wanted to get into shape, lift, and look better. But what does looking better mean to me? I sat up one night and really had to think about it, it was terrifying because there is a million options out there to reach and achieve.

I finally came to a decision, I didn’t want to focus on numbers, because sometimes focusing on a number can get you into trouble and create problems in your body. I want to look lean, fit, and athletic, without looking like a body builder. One thing I have always struggled with is getting that perfect six pack and making it stand out with flexing, so I hope to have a six pack. I don’t really care what my weight is at as long as I look like my goal. The way I plan to do this is by following something I heard one day and it has stuck with me to this day, “I want to look like my pump.” For those of you that do not know what a “pump” is, it’s the look you get when you go to the gym and it sticks with you for about and hour after the gym. All of your muscles stick out, they look their best, and they’re working hard than they were before, giving off the best look you can have at the moment.

Just want to explain why this is so significant to me. To look like your pump is impossible, for lack of a better term. You will obviously look like your pump during your workout, which lasts anywhere from 2-3 hours. That still leaves anywhere from 21-22 hours in the day where you do not give off that look. When I am sitting at home, eating a snack,watching Netflix, I want to be able to look like I do during my workouts, so it gives me drive to keep working, and driving myself to do things I never thought I could.

One of the men I look up to when it comes to fitness is a local gym teacher from Pleasant Valley Elementary School (PVS) in Mullica Hill. Brian Gray, 46, was the one who made my first workout plans and let me use his garage to workout in. I recently was in contact with Mr. Gray, and he gave a few words on goal setting and how to motivate yourself to a goal.

“I find goal setting helps with motivation. I generally workout alone so I am always setting some type of goal or another. I try to find a short term goal and a long term goal. That way you successfully reach several goals while working towards a bigger goal.”

Mr. Gray still teaches gym classes at PVS and works along with a group of others that run a program called Pleasant Valley Fit, targeted for elementary school children. The program looks to get kids starting to think about staying fit at a younger age while also making it an enjoyable experience for them.

Mr. Gray goes on to mention how his goals have changed over the years. In his twenties, his goals were different than when he was in his thirties. His goals in his thirties were different than the goals in his forties. As time goes on, goals can change, you don’t always need to stick to the same goal, change it up. Maybe start small and work your way up.

Achieving a goal is a great feeling and can keep you motivated to keep working and growing as a person. For me, I know when I hit a goal I set it feels amazing and I want to make sure I can step it up and improve myself. It takes focus and determination to get better and that comes from you and no one else.

Find a goal that is reachable and not too wild and keep it simple so you do not get hurt. Injury can set you back further and prolong the journey to get to your goal. Stay focused, stay determined, and keep working to better yourself!

One thought on “Setting the Right Goal and How to Achieve it

Leave a Reply

